

GARW VALLEY COMMUNITY COUNCIL CYNGOR CYMUNED CWM GARW

Minutes of the Annual Meeting held at the Betws Life Centre Monday 19th May 2014

Members Present: Councillor T M Jenkins (outgoing Chairperson), Councillor G Davies (incoming Chairperson)

Councillors: C G Andrews; D T Griffiths; Mrs D Griffiths; H Griffiths; W J Hillier; Mrs M. Thomas and G Walters.

The meeting commenced at 7.00 pm and was initially chaired by Councillor T M Jenkins.

No. <u>Minute</u>

IApologies for AbsenceCllrs F Hughes, M Jones, S Maclaren and J Szeligiewicz

2 <u>Chairperson's Outgoing Address</u>

Cllr Jenkins said she'd had a difficult yet enjoyable twelve months and thanked the Members and Clerk for all of their support. Cllr Jenkins stated that the most memorable function that she attended was the unveiling of the Wales National Mining Memorial to commemorate 100 years since the worst mining disaster in UK history. Cllr Jenkins included in her outgoing speech about the sad loss of Cllr David Barnes during her term of office and the replacing of Cllr Elwyn Dunster. Cllr Jenkins then wished the incoming Chairman every success for the next twelve months and presented Cllr Davies with the Chain of Office.

3 <u>Election of Chairperson</u>

One nomination received – Cllr G Davies. With all Members present in agreement, it was:-Resolved: that Cllr G Davies is duly elected to be the Council's Chairman for the forthcoming year

4 <u>Acceptance of Office</u>

The newly elected Chairman thanked the Members for their confidence and then duly signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

5 <u>Election of Vice-Chairperson</u>

One nomination received – Cllr C G Andrews. With all Members present in agreement, it was:-

Resolved: that Cllr C G Andrews is duly elected to be the Council's Vice-Chairperson for the forthcoming year

6 <u>Minutes of the 2013 AGM</u>

Resolved: that the Minutes of the Annual Meeting held on Monday 20th May 2013 were a true and accurate record (having been agreed at the June 2013 Meeting).

7 <u>Election of Delegates</u>

Staff Appointments Committee

Resolved: that the current Committee consists of the Chairman and one delegate from each Ward. All Members were in agreement and so the Committee consists of: - The Chairperson, Cllrs D T Griffiths, Mrs H Griffiths and C G Andrews.

Disciplinary Committee

Resolved: that the Staff Appointments Committee is also to serve as the Disciplinary Committee

<u>Rights of Way Committee</u> Resolved: that the status quo remains - Full Council

<u>Finance Sub-Committee</u> Resolved: that the status quo remains – Cllrs Mrs D Griffiths and Mrs H Griffiths

<u>Community Park</u> Resolved: that the status quo remains – Full Council

<u>Town & Community Council Forum</u> Resolved: that Cllr T Jenkins represents the Council at the Forum

8 <u>Standing Orders</u> Resolved: that there are to be no additions or deletions to Standing Orders

9 <u>Financial Regulations</u> Resolved: that there are to be no additions or deletions to Financial Regulations

10 <u>Financial Statement</u> Resolved: that the Financial Statement had been agreed at the April 2014 Full Council Meeting

11 <u>Chairperson's Allowance for 2014/15</u> Resolved: that the Chairman's Allowance remains at One Thousand Pounds

12<u>Risk Assessment Policy</u>Resolved: that the Risk Assessment Policy is adopted

13Adequacy of the Council's Insurance PolicyResolved: that the Insurance Policy held is suitable for the Council's needs.

With business concluded, the Chairperson closed the Meeting at 7.15pm

Chairperson_____

Date