Draft Summary of the Annual Meeting of the Garw Valley Community Council held on Monday <u>16th May 2022 at Pontycymer OAP Centre and via Zoom</u>

Attendance:

Councillors G Andrews, J Coles, D Davies, William Davies, H Griffiths, M Lewis, C Lloyd and M Thomas (There are currently two vacancies on the council)

Apologies:

None

No Apologies:

Councillors R Jones, M Jones and M Trowbridge

Declarations of Interest:

No declarations of interest were made for items on the agenda.

Minute Number	Agenda Item	Action
3/22-23	To Appoint a Chair for the Year	 Outgoing Chair Councillor Heather Griffiths chaired the meeting for items 1,2 and 3. Councillor Deb Davies was unanimously elected Chair of Council and took over chairing the meeting from this point.
4/22-23	To Appoint a Vice-Chair for the Year	 Councillor Gareth Andrews was unanimously elected Vice-Chair of Council.
6/22-23	To Determine a Timetable of Meetings for 2022/23	 It was unanimously agreed that the council meetings would remain on the 3rd Monday of the month and start at 6.30 pm. With the exception of the June 2022 meeting which would this year be held earlier in the month on 6th June. The Clerk had distributed a list of meetings for the year.
7/22-23	To Appoint Committees and agree their Terms of Reference	 The Clerk had circulated the Terms of Reference in advance of the meeting and these were approved and accepted. The Finance & Resources Committee would be made up as follows: Councillor Gareth Andrews

		 Councillor Rees Jones Councillor Heather Griffiths Councillor Deb Davies The Staff & Disciplinary Committee would be made up as follows: Councillor Gareth Andrews Councillor Deb Davies Councillor Heather Griffiths Councillor Michelle Trowbridge The Events Committee would be made up as follows: Councillor John Coles Councillor Heather Griffiths Councillor Heather Griffiths Yacancy Bettws Ward
8/22-23	To Appoint Representatives to Represent the Council	 It was unanimously agreed to the following: BCBC T&CC Forum - Councillor John Coles 5 Primary Schools Community Governors: Councillor Chris Lloyd Calon y Cymoedd, Councillor Maxine Lewis Ffaldau Primary, Councillor Deb Davies Tynyrheol Primary, Councillor Gareth Andrews Blaengarw Primary and Councillor Rees Lewis Bettws Primary One Voice Wales Area Committee - Councillor John Coles One Voice Wales Larger and Annual Meetings, plus Conferences - Councillor Deb Davies
9/22-23	To note the 2022/2023 Allowances for the Chair and Vice-Chair as agreed at the December 2021 Precept Meeting	 The allowances were noted, agreed and approved.
10/22-23	To Discuss the IRPW Report 2022 ref. Attendance Allowance	 It was unanimously agreed to offer the attendance allowance to Councillors, a payment of £30 pa as well as the Councillor Allowance of £150 pa

11/22-23	To note the Internal Auditor for 2021/2022 and agree the Internal Auditor for 2022/23	 The Internal Auditor for 2021/2022 was noted as Mr W Davies. It was agreed as a matter of good practice to change the internal auditor for 2022/23. The Clerk was given authority to engage the services of an internal auditor for that year.
12/22-23	To Agree the Council's Solicitor for 2022/2023	 It was unanimously agreed to use the services of King Davies & Partners, Maesteg if a solicitor is required.
13/22-23	Code of Conduct	• All Councillors agreed to adopt the Code of Conduct and had signed their Declaration of Acceptance of Office stating this.